Easy Bake Oven

Easy recipes, great results

Low fat, low sugar orange chiffon cake

img_0017.jpg

One of my favourite blogs to try recipes from is Do what I like. Almost every recipe that I’ve tried from there has been a winner. In my rampage for low fat cake recipes, I’ve tried her chiffon cake.

In my mind, the key to a successful chiffon is that it is still soft and moist the next day. This is a big problem with sponge cakes for me, as it becomes hard and chewy very quickly. Luckily, this one was still just as delicious the next day. I scaled her recipe to use 3 eggs in a 9″ tube pan because I didn’t want to waste too many ingredients if it failed. But it worked and rose beautifully. The taste is just right for me, not too sweet. I think that I may try to cut the sugar back just a bit more. And I may want to play around, substituting strawberry puree for orange juice.

Look at the fine texture. Small crumbs, and not many big holes.

img_0014.jpg

Fresh Orange Juice Chiffon Cake

(Adapted from Do what I like)

Ingredients:
72g Cake Flour
1/2 tsp Baking powder

4 tbsp Warm orange juice (I used freshly squeezed and strained orange juice, and put it in hot water bath)
Zest of 1 large orange

3 egg yolks + 16g castor sugar + Salt 1/8 tsp
3 egg whites + 30g castor sugar + 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

2 tbsp Corn oil
1/2 tsp Vanilla essence
Method:
1. Sieve flour and baking powder 3 times.
2. Use machine to whisk egg yolk until creamy and light in colour.
Add in corn oil then warm orange juice and vanilla
3. Add in flour mixture into yolk mixture lightly. Add in orange zest.
4. Beat egg white with electric beater until big bubbles formed.
Sprinkle in cream of tartar and beat until it is white in colour.
Add in sugar gradually and beat until stiff perks
formed. About 5 minutes for 250w egg beater.
5. Pour 1/2 egg white into flour mixture in (3) and blend well.
6. Pour flour mixture into the rest of the egg white and blend well.
7. Bake at 175C for 45 minutes or until cooked.
8. Invert the cooked cake during cooling process. Place it far from a surface so that the top doesn’t become sticky.

July 6, 2007 - Posted by | Cake, Low fat, Orange

1 Comment »

  1. It looks really good!
    I’m very interested in low fat recipes, I’ll tag this one!

    Comment by Patricia Scarpin | July 10, 2007


Leave a Reply

