Easy Bake Oven

Easy recipes, great results

Chocolate lava cake… a flop

So, it was bound to happen. I was happily going on my baking ways, when this horribly ugly cake came about. I was practising a new recipe, as I’ll be having a baking potluck with a few close friends. They really like lava cake, so I decided for a trial run. But yuck, it did not work. Basically, I whisked a whole egg with some salt, sugar and vanilla. Then I folded in some melted dark chocolate and butter, followed by the tiniest smidgeon of flour.

I had hid a bit of white chocolate in the batter to melt and ooze out. But the result was that the chocolate sunk to the bottom. (Not enough flour perhaps?) And the white chocolate did not really melt, while the dark chocolate was still quite raw. The whole concoction tasted quite eggy. The plus side was that it was a small recipe and it didn’t take too much of my time or my beautiful chocolate. In the garbage you go! And I’m just disheartened enough to try again… :)

(I’m not including the recipe for obvious reasons.)

July 10, 2007 - Posted by | Cake, Chocolate

2 Comments »

  1. Been there done that! I admire your determination though to try it again! I am sure the next time will be a hit.

    Comment by Kristen | July 11, 2007

  2. Don’t worry! It happens to all of us – it’s a good thing you shared this experience with us!

    Comment by Patricia Scarpin | July 11, 2007


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

